Sunday Morning on Shuswap Road

Another morning
with a bright blue sky to call
me out for a drive

~carliewired

I was up at 6 and out the door in minutes. No time for coffee this morning. I was headed for Shuswap Road, that lovely drive along the South Thompson River. 

The sun was already up in places. I had to make good use of my sun visor so I could actually see the road. It was a very quiet drive with few others up and moving this morning. 

For my first photo, I stopped right on the road and shot through the front window to catch the Wanda Sue, a replica paddlewheeler at its home berth on the river. Sadly, it's retired now. 

I stopped several times to get views of the silt bluffs on the north side of the road. Looking west, I got a shot of my mountains. There were so many birds flocking everywhere. I got a rather poor shot of a red-winged blackbird clinging to grasses along the roadside. I found the eagle where I often find it. It was perched watching the river. I spotted a hawk way up on a power pole. It was watching the grasslands. The osprey nest had both parents there. One on the nest flapped its feathers, then settled in. The other parent was higher above on a pole looking down into the nest. 
The weeds are tall and very dry. The wild flowers are drying out too. My last shot looked west over the river and towards the city.

I was home just after 7:30 with some breakfast and the essential very large coffee. I'm home for the day. No plans but to putter around. 

We're in for a sunny day with a high of 33 C. No doubt the A/C will be back on today! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.