McArthur Island - North Side

A calm, cool and bright
start to my day - but the heat
will be coming up! 

~carliewired

I slept in until just before 7. That surprised me! I scrambled into my clothes and was off to McArthur Island in a big hurry. 

I parked near the Butterfly Garden and had a brief walk around the flower beds. I walked across the foot bridge to get a shot of my mountains. I had to squint hard as the sun was already well above the horizon. The slough was as smooth as glass but no waterfowl there today. As I walked back to my car I saw a doe and her fawn way across in a playing field. I got a shot of the two together before they wandered off out of my range. 

I got two photos of the north side marmots. One was perched on a curb looking back at me curiously. The other posed at the top of a set of stairs looking into the sun. The marmots on this side of the island have very settings from their cousins on the south side. 

As I turned the corner at the edge of the north side, a doe and her fawn were making their way across the parking lot. It never seems right to find them on pavement, but such is the life of urban deer. I noticed that does do not seem to supervise their young. The mama traipses off and the baby has to follow or be lost. She doesn't look back to check where the fawn is. 

I picked up some breakfast and the necessary very large coffee on my way home. I was inside listening to the 8 AM news. 

I will be in for the day as it heats up once again. I have lots to putter at to keep me busy.

We're expecting a sunny day with a high of 29 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.