carliewired

By carliewired

Cloud + Smoke

It's another day
with wildfire smoke in our hot,
tinder dry region

~ carliewired

I slept in until 6:30 this morning. The house was so dark with the cloudy, smoky sky. 

I drove out to the east end of the airport. I was too late to catch the helicopters heading out for the day. Some little private planes came in. I'm not sure how they are managing in this air pollution as I believe they fly on visual flight rules. I could barely make out my mountains to the east. 

Just off the runway at the east end a little flock of Canada geese were resting. I don't know what the attraction would be for them there. Incoming small planes are skirted off to this area away from the terminal. I watched as these aircraft herded the geese as they rounded the curve. The geese made disagreeable noises and squatted down again once the plane passed by them. I can really appreciate how these birds are a danger to aircraft. (We've already had one tragedy here for that reason. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2841014967598058036 ) At some signal known only to geese, they gathered themselves up with a great deal of honking and took off over the main runway. 

I was reminded once again how dry our region is. Anything that was once grass is now straw. The blue chickory stands out remarkably in the roadside. I was also rather shocked to see how many discarded cigarette butts there are lying around. People out using the Rivers Trail need to be very careful. 

This morning we are hearing that the little community of Monte Lake has been destroyed by the White Rock Lake Fire overnight. It is only 45 km southeast of Kamloops and on a route I often enjoy. I can only imagine the devastation. I was recently by the lake for breakfast. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2850503335251804950

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.