carliewired

By carliewired

Rain

A welcome surprise
this morning - what is that 'stain'
on the driveway now? 

I'd ignored the forecast promising 'showers' today. It has come up many times and we've been sadly disappointed. Backing out the car this morning I was quite surprised to see evidence that it had rained and I needed to turn on the wipers.

I was off across the bridge and made a right to Mission Flats. I drove as far as possible and parked in a small turnaround. Nothing much going on at 6:30 AM. (All was quiet save for the flurry of vehicles coming in for the pipeline near the pulp mill. I haven't seen any activity for weeks there.)

I got some shots of my mountains looking east and a grand view of the river to the west where it flows into Kamloops Lake. There's smoke hanging in low spots. It was a relief to have better visibility today. 

While sorting out my storage room this past week, my daughter discovered an old camera that was long-forgotten. I have some vague remembrances of using this little Canon Powershot. I remembered it had great abilities with macro photos. So, I charged it up, gave it a trial at home and took it out with me this morning. It did all right with the weeds blooming along the river. I didn't even notice the bug in the blossom until I got it uploaded. The camera sees better than I do. 

It's much cooler today. We are expecting a high of 24 C. I will enjoy it. The wildfire smoke has lightened a bit but it won't be going away any time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.