Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

TWG

Who remembers what they were doing on this day fifteen years ago? The sharp ones amongst you might instantly remember that the Beijing Olympics began on 08.08.08. They love the number 8 in that part of the world. G & I visited my aunt in Stuttgart. It was the last time I visited Germany.

Fifteen years later, it was an ordinary day. I went into the office and got the desk I hoped for but not the desk buddy. The person I should have sat next to has been moved. All the new interns need careful monitoring, so everything is up in the air. It was a busy morning catching up with various people, the most important of whom was my "weekly" meeting with my new line manager.

It was her first day back in the office after a three-week break. She said she had 1,500 emails to go through. I told her about my visa rejection, and we have agreed on a way that I can have a "break". I won't go into the office but will work from home. I wanted it to be flexible, but she suggested sticking to times so I don't get interrupted outside those hours. It makes sense! I have to figure out what hours I want to work.

It was good to come home for lunch and even have a siesta. We ventured out later to check out a table tennis academy near the post office. It looks fine for what we need, so we'll try it tomorrow. We then went to Dubai Mall, not just to get some steps in but also to get some things done. My blip is from there. I love where the TWG shop is situated and all the colours in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.