Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hartburn walk

I was with the Intermediate Walkers today for a circular walk from Hartburn village, a few miles west of Morpeth.

The slow puncture was back, so Christine and Henry gave me a lift. It was good to have longer than usual to chat. (The only sad bit was that the pub at the end of the walk was closed, so I did not have the chance to have a pint on the way home!)

We started in Hartburn Church which will benefit from a longer visit. It was founded in the 12th century and has a lot of interesting features.

Wealth came to mind when I saw all the memorials and the stained glass windows. The guide to the church did not tell me about those windows. (Note to self: go and find Pevsner asap.)

There is a Grotto not far away where early wild swimmers used to change in a tiny cave then go down a tunnel into the river. The woods are called Hartburn Glebe, which is unusual.

I’ve been doing quite well, but my sciatica played up rotten today and I limped in at the end of the walk, muttering darkly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.