Teasel

By Teasel

Rowan Tree

Back to work for me today, which was a real shock to the system.  I was reluctant to get out of my bed, but I did and fitted in my pre-work walk.  It was a really lovely morning, so was even more reluctant to the prospect of work.  I had to set my work station up when I got back, and was still in denial that I was about to sit down at my laptop again.  I logged on, took a look at a few messages and then at my in box, but not at any messages in it.  I thought I should check my calendar, as I had no idea what was in it.  I noticed a big meeting that I usually attend, thought about it, found the agenda, checked the agenda and thought I definitely should attend.  It usually starts at 10am, so I thought I had time to settle in.  At just gone 9am, I thought I would take a closer look at the agenda and look for the papers in my in box, when I noticed it had started at 9am.  I logged into it immediately and was then sat there for over four hours,  I couldn’t find the papers, but a colleague eventually sent me some, but not all.  What a way to start back, a four hour meeting where you haven’t read the papers, and are totally unprepared.  It certainly got me back into work mode, as I was struggling to remember what was going on two weeks ago.
 
While on the meeting,  I was also listening out for the postman – as it is results day.  They dropped onto the doormat at 11:55am.  BB opened them in another room, then came through and showed me.  The boy did well – very well indeed.  A huge relief all round. He’s very happy and so are we, especially as things have been a bit up and down for him over the past year with his health issues.  He should be well positioned for whatever he wants to do at university.  I went out for a  quick walk in the sunshine and he celebrated with a pot noodle for lunch!
 
I had an afternoon of catch up calls with colleagues and then looked at a handful of emails.  My in box will have to wait until tomorrow.  BB disappeared to rugby training and was starving when he got back.  Once he had eaten he then headed back out with friends to celebrate the results.  I went out for a walk as it was a lovely evening.  TT was in the garden this evening, and is very disappointed that things have not really thrived while we have been away.
 
This magnificent rowan tree always looks lovely against a blue sky at this time of year.
 
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.