Flossmo

By Flossmo

A simpler life

I started the day with a bit of a tidy up and then sat down to some computer work. Finally I have managed to transfer some money into a new ISA - it has only taken a fortnight (or two weeks in American money) to set it up, get it approved by Nat West and get the details needed to make the transfer. The wheels of commerce are grinding to a halt.

Later, when my new sewing machine bulb arrived (thank you Amazon), I got the shortened sleeves on my new pac-a-mac sewn. It's not the neatest job in the world but I don't suppose anyone will notice, least of all when it's raining. Next job is to put a coat of proofing spray on it; 'shower resistant' rarely cuts the mustard.

After lunch I spent a little time in my office tidying and I opened up a package which had arrived a few days earlier - a print which I had bought from Aberystwyth Printmakers (see photograph). I saw it when I was on my recent visit to the University Art Museum: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3130432697801901240 and it struck a chord. It's by Pete Monaghan and I love the loose style and ramshackle subject. I sometimes dream of a simpler life in a place like that... although the practicalities would probably be quite beyond me. I will sit and look at it and dream...

After that Mr Flossmo and I went and did a big Sainsburys shop. We were low on a lot of things so we walked more or less every aisle - which I regard as exercise - gasping at the prices as we went. Sometimes I feel like I am becoming my mother - I remember when you could get a pint of milk for sixpence etc

We spent a quiet evening reading. 

   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.