An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Sleeping Beauty...

We have had the laziest day ever!  

I was wide awake at 7am, had cereal and reviewed my to-do list, which obviously overwhelmed me as I dozed off and the next thing I knew it was 11am!  I must have needed it though as I felt much brighter.  

As I've enjoyed some lovely lunches with girlfriends recently at a local hotel, we decided to give their Sunday lunch a go.  Booked for 3pm and off we toddled.  Oh my, we were not disappointed!

Warmly greeted by the lovely waitress who's been serving during my recent visits (we're like old friends now! lol) we were shown to a lovely table in the conservatory.   We then spent a lovely couple of hours eating some of the best food we've ever had in a restaurant.  

D had the soufflé to start and I had the beetroot gravlax (pic in extras)  I have never eaten anything so slowly as I did not want it to end!   We both had the roast beef which was perfectly cooked with delicious roasties and veg and a fabulous Yorkshire pudding.

I generally don't have a dessert if I have a starter and I was pretty full, but the starter and main had been so delicious, I was keen to try another course.  In the end I had the sticky toffee pudding and D had lemon tart.  I couldn't finish it but what I had was light as a feather and the toffee sauce was amazing.  I would go as far as to say the food we ate today is on a level with and probably beats any food we've eaten at Gleneagles. And it's easier on the wallet!

We returned home very happy, me doubly so as no dinner to cook :-) 

I decided to get on with crocheting my hexi cardi, which I've been at for months.  D sat down with his iPad to organise his golf games and within seconds we'd both nodded off!  What a pair of old codgers we are becoming.  It's great!  lol  Woke up to find Lola had joined us.  She fits in with our family so well :-))

The good news is once awake, I finished the second side of my cardi so the next stage will be to join it together and decide if I want to crochet cuffs onto the sleeves (I suspect not :-) It was supposed to be ready in time for the summer. At this rate I will be wearing it at Christmas...but I'm not committing to a year ;-))

Alan returned from being out with Penny and headed straight for the pool for a hydro session.  He's been full of the joys yesterday and today so I think whatever's been bugging him might be lifting.  Fingers crossed.  

Phoned John (my stepdad) as he was getting a knee op on Friday.  I spoke to him yesterday and he was hoping to get home today and he did.  He's been given two days worth of strong painkillers from the hospital but he will need them for longer than that (voice of experience here :-) We are visiting him tomorrow so will make sure he phones his GP to get a prescription sent to the chemist.  Glad the op is done.  He's waited a long time for it.  

NB I have no affiliation with The Cairn Hotel in any way, shape or form, except as a very satisfied customer.  So, if you are ever in Perthshire looking for a lovely place to eat delicious food, you could do worse than find yourself there :-)))


Yesterday



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.