Marionb

By Marionb

Dump Run...

Back-blipped on Aug. 14

Life is a little different here at the cottage than it is in the city - for one thing, you take your own garbage to the dump - by boat. Never has dumping garbage been more fun than that! And in the old days, there used to be bears there, so that made it even more fun...  but since then the government has solved that issue! And as I won't be out in a boat much for the next week or so, this morning I went along for the ride.

The best view from the water today was probably that cloud formation... I just loved it...but am hoping it disappears before nightfall so that I might get at least a glimpse of the Perseid Meteor Shower!

My sister and daughter and son-in-law left today to return to their homes so I am now alone here on the island. As much as I love to see family, I also love time to myself, especially here where it means relaxation and just enjoying the peace and quiet - and of course the wildlife..

I am sitting here right now on the dock (our new wifi set-up actually sends a signal this far from the cottage) back-blipping entries for days that were too busy to think and am, supposedly, keeping an eye out for some interesting wildlife to appear.. Not well enough it seems...AS..just now, a cormorant somehow had landed or emerged from under the water without me noticing, and with a great flourish and beating of wings, took off just a few feet from me!  Made me jump! (most exercise I have had in days!) 

I am particularly focused at the moment on seeing the bears. Apparently a bear cub and an adult- probably "mom" - have been coming out to drink or stroll along the shoreline in the little bay facing our dock. Of course, that was before I got here..I usually miss the  really interesting sightings! BUT, I have seen a loon and her two babies swimming out front since I arrived..and THAT was a real treat! I tried to photograph it but it was just too far away to get a focused shot....

If a bear were to emerge from the forest, I would definitely blip it..Hard to beat a bear for a blip..even if blurry...and if that happens today, it will appear in today's posting..which I will probably write tomorrow...All this back-blipping is so confusing to write! If only I could keep up! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.