gennepher

By gennepher

Ink painting

I realised I was being hard on myself yesterday, with the palaver with the receptionist. I thought I shouldn't be so tired and stressed afterwards.

The receptionist was talking through a solid counter to ceiling perspex screen, which has smears on it and also which has a lot of reflections from the window opposite, all making it hard/impossible to hear and to be able to lipread through, as well as muffling the receptionist's voice because there is no grille for a voice to come through.

So yesterday, I was much more dependent on lip reading (probably totally lipreading only at this point and I was constantly reminding the receptionist to face me so I could lipread her), in this particular situation.

Now, I am analysing that, I realise that was why I was so tired the rest of the day, and I did have a headache. My brain was tense and exhausted working all the receptionist's words out. And I was repeating the receptionist's words and her phrases to check I had lipread and understood correctly. That conversation took over 20 minutes in difficult circumstances....I was very lucky I did not get a visual migraine attack with the amount of concentration I put into lipreading/understanding the conversation.


Wildlife video
A night in my back garden - fox & badger & cats
54 seconds
https://youtu.be/PvowD-7pIOY


Creative - still trying the credit card to spread the acrylic inks, to try and get some control, but it is not working the way I want. So, I am still experimenting with this.

I am having a no people day. Which means no lipreading or hearing or face to face communicating. It also means I am not putting on my cochlear speech processor. Giving my brain a rest. Going back to visual for today, that is watching You Tube on captions/subtitles only, just for today...


Have your best kind of day.

Time for a cuppa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.