Marionb

By Marionb

Today's Cottage Critters...

... A non-breeding immature spotted sandpiper and our one lone chipmunk... but who's missing? The spiders and the snakes yes, but also a newcomer... the BAT! (who is totally not blippable) 

I encountered him this morning when I came in to the main cottage from the bunkie to make my usual before-sunrise coffee...and was dive-bombed by this wild, disoriented, black and, as yet, unidentified flying object! It didn't take long to figure out it was a bat and an unhappy one at that..This bat, a totally uninvited guest, apparently had, unbeknownst to me, found his way into the cottage, found a cosy spot somewhere in the bathroom and had hunkered down for the night and now desperately wanted out!  

What a fiasco..it was like being in a movie - The Big Chill to be exact! I do remember that "catch-the-bat" scene well...The poor bat didn't know what to do except frantically swoop and dive and scuttle back and forth across the floor! There wasn't much for me to do except hold the outside door open for him and hope he would eventually figure it out! Eventually..., he did. Whew!  

It was a rather startling and unusual way to start the day, but a memorable one..The rest of the day, of course, paled in comparison....It was very windy, a bit smoky ...but I did the laundry anyway, played with photo--editing, finished my book Greenwood, had a swim, and watched a whole series on Appletv+. Good thing I am not counting steps these days...yikes....I will have a lot to make up for when I go back home! 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.