Marionb

By Marionb

Touch of Pink..

At last a hint of colour in the sunrise..I have really missed those fiery sunrises of last year...but I have to remind myself that these days, the last thing anyone wants on their horizon is a fiery red glow..

It is so frightening and depressing to see what is happening out west with those wildfires..I am sure those folks out there would be really happy to see such a pastel, fire-less, smoke-less  sunrise...I cannot imagine what they are enduring...I am so lucky to be here...

Life is pretty quiet here these days - I am not seeing a lot of wildlife to photograph and I do wonder where the ducks and the heron have gone. The feeders are still busy though, and the loons are still about. In fact, I heard a loud call this morning. It sounded very close and sure enough, the loon was right out front - within camera range  - but I was too late; he was just starting his take-off....which is a sure sign that fall is approaching..I figure that he was out practising for the flight back east which will be coming soon. 

Taking off appears to be a laborious effort for loons - well, it seems that way anyway when you witness their apparent battle to get airborne!  Loons can only take-off from water and because of their relative body weight, they need a really long runway of open water to do so. That can be a challenge sometimes, as timing is everything; they must leave here for the east coast before the lakes start to freeze over..or they will not have that runway...and will not be able to escape. So..perhaps our loons are picking up on the weather clues and getting ready? Never too soon to plan for a trip...

Bat Update...I thought he was a goner but the bat came back. I was sitting on the dock this morning, next to the sun umbrella - seldom needed these days - and out of nowhere - well actually he had to come out of somewhere - (my daughter suggests from the umbrella - it happened to her once...bat sleeping in umbrella, that is...) came the bat! He did a fly-by around me  - to say hi? - and swooped off toward the back of the cottage....Does this mean we are buddies now? Geez...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.