carliewired

By carliewired

61 F/16 C

Some rain overnight
The air feels fresher but the
smoke hangs in the air

~carliewired

The view from my windows at 6 did not encourage me to launch with my camera. I sat back in my recliner and waited.....At 7 I didn't think the weather was going to improve so off I went to McArthur Island Park. 

I drove in to the north side of the island near the foot bridge. The sun was a bleary red ball in the sky. There's a big band of smoke hanging in the valley. I caught the reflections in the slough and my mountains to the east. Some mama ducks came up on the bridge to see what I was doing. 

I drove over to the south side where the fire crews are still set up in a sea of tents. They were beginning to form up their teams and were leaving in a parade of trucks. It was encouraging to read the names of many towns/cities on their trucks. These crews have come in from all points to fight the wildfires. 

I stopped for a few minutes in the Xeriscape Garden to find some blossoms, then I started for home. 

We might be lucky enough to get some more rain today. Fingers crossed that lightning does not create more work for the fire crews. 

I'd love to go to the quilt store today, but it will depend on my sad feet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.