IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

No frontiers

This is where we are at with our orchard area of the garden. If you have been following our progress these past couple of weeks, the goal is to plant up the island beds that I have been preparing since last autumn (black sheet was over the grass and weeds during winter). The sheets are now being removed ... ground dug over (with my Mantis cultivator), and then some fertiliser added and finally .... the lovely free compost that I told you about yesterday, added to the top.

All that remains now is to plant out all the seedlings we have been raising in the greenhouses (which the Special K is doing right now as I type).

I'm going to stick with annuals for this year, but I would like to have low growing perennials under the fruit trees ... any suggestions folks? I don't want to have to raise annuals every year. It's "fun" but time consuming. As you can see, the trees themselves cast a wee bit of shade with their leaves in the summer (this one here is a plum tree). Growing close by, under the hedge, is a mixture of lupins, aquilegias, forget me nots, euphorbias, and perennial cornflowers ... these all seem to thrive in these light levels. I guess they would all be ok? Any advice appreciated (go on ... don't be shy).

Well, I'm going back to plant out lots of Hebes that I collected as seedlings last year. They were popping up everywhere out in the front gravel area. I saved them from the annual weed cull, and they have now outgrown their pots ... so time to do it now.

Later tonight, we're back in the gym class (spinfit) ... joining us???

Why the title? It's just what sprung to mind ... frontiers, boundaries, areas ... sections of the garden ... this is what we are doing/planning just now. Trying to create "little rooms" in the garden. Doesn't make much sense, does it? Oh what the heck ... here's the video by Peter Gabriel.

Update: We have now created 5 new island beds in our little orchard area. See previous Blip of the first two islands which you can see at the top of this photograph.

Best wishes :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.