Photogen

By Photogen

Columbine Cluster

Columbine is a hardy perennial and loves full sun, and does not require protection in the winter. So it's a winner in my book. This hybrid specimen is a wonderful two-toned colour of purple, and is growing in a pot. It looks at its best just now after a few days of sunshine and no rain.

The genus name is Aquilegia, from the Latin word for eagle (aquila), because the shape of the flower petals. They are supposed to resemble an eagle's claw but I find it difficult to see that connection.

I took this shot looking straight down on the blooms and used a fast shutter speed as the wind was blowing the blooms around with a vengeance. I finished with a touch of an Artistic Brush Accentuated Edges filter to add a little punch of my own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.