Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Harvest Sunrise

I can't remember being out for three sunrises in a week for many months.  That's often due to the summer months sunrises being so early, but I've also been a little less committed to photography in recent times.

Funnily enough I was listening to Claudia Winkleman on Radio 2 yesterday, she was interviewing Julia Bradbury who is shortly to release a book on the benefits of walking and connecting with nature.  She was quoting from Russell Foster, Head Of The Nuffield Laboratory Of Ophthalmology And The Sleep And Circadian Neuroscience Institute, who says how important it is to our health and sleep patterns that we experience sunlight in the first hours of daylight.  The quality of light at that time of day is different to all other times.  


I remember him from his association with Blipfoto and the Lovers of Light competition, sponsored by Velux.  It was one of my proudest moments in photography to have one of my images chosen as the winner of the competition 10 years ago.  He would describe experiencing early sunlight as a 'photonic shower' reviving us after our slumbers.


Ps I forgot to mention that today is the centenary of my mother’s birth on 27th August 1923.  Sadly she didn’t quite reach this milestone, dying a few years ago. Such is the circle of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.