Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Photographer on heather moors

Best viewed on black.

Today I drove south to my old stomping ground of East Cleveland. I was a GP in the village of Skelton in Cleveland for almost 10 years and I lived in Saltburn by the Sea.

There was a workshop on the moors above Castleton (near Commondale) with Joe Cornish. I had long hoped to go on a workshop with him.

There were three of us: Tracy, Carol and me, but the maximum he would have taken is 4. This allowed for us all to have a lot of his time. He is an excellent tutor and sees all sorts of details I would miss at least half the time!

When I decided to make a panorama he suggested that I leave Carol in for scale and interest. I like the image because it gives you an impression of the wide open spaces on the moors. We were looking across at Castleton on the ridge.

The heather in this area was in big clumps with delicate yellowing grasses all around. 

My extra is a Scot's pine with a dead tree in front of it. I love the textures and contrasts.

For part of the time, the midges were unbearable, despite using a DEET spray liberally..........

When we finished it was nearly dark. I drove to Great Ayton to stay with my old friend, Diana and her partner, Mike. It was 9pm when I arrived. I was almost too tired to chat, but I soon perked up.

It was undoubtedly too late to post a blip so this has been done on Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.