A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Great summer skies

It was the skies today that caught my attention from first drawing back the curtains. Despite being the last day of August they were definitely full of summer. It was warm and sunny with no wind but you could see mist in the Aire Valley bottom from the top of the estate and the grass was wet with a heavy dew - all signs of the coming season.

Our last ‘later’ Thursday morning walk for a while as Wilsden Walker ( like Grace) is back at work tomorrow so next week will be half an hour earlier.

It was a lovely walk with good company as usual but one that I have missed for a few weeks. I took the blip looking back over the village as I ascended the road up to the St Ives estate where we meet at 7.45 currently, 7.15 from next week. 
I took it mainly for the sky but you can see some of the older buildings in the centre of our village, the school and the Congregational Church and beyond to the village of Wilsden. The building to the right lit by the morning sun was a mill/engineering works that was rebuilt as three story houses about 20 years ago

After the walk I returned through the woods to the newly mown field above the Cricket ground. I had a bag with me to collect some blackberries, fruits of late summer. I did so accompanied by my neighbour and we had a good chat. 

I didn’t want too many as I’m not  planning on making jam or anything, just a few for the freezer for dipping into. I open froze them on a glass tray and got just enough for a recycled plastic tub full. I can just sprinkle a few on my cereal or porridge in a month or two. 
Might do the same again next week and get another tub full.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.