JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

To Ynys Llanddwyn and back

I woke very early, peered out of the window and saw fog. So I dozed off for a while. But an hour later there was bright sunshine. After a hasty breakfast, I packed the car and got back to Newborough just after 8 a.m.
No fog, and no crowds either.
I walked along the beach and over to Llanddwyn island. It was blissfully quiet: just a few walkers, paddle boarders and cyclists. Walking back, I went through the forest instead of along the beach. By then the sun was intense, and I needed shade.  It was a bit like walking from summer into early autumn: dew-spangled cobwebs on the bushes, and a few fungi here and there.
Back in the car park, there'd been a transition too: now there were crowds of people heading cheerfully to the beach, laden with kit of various descriptions.  I knew the drive back home would be slow and busy, but that was a small price to pay for such a wonderful finale to this week away.
There's some background info about Llanddwyn here:
https://www.anglesey-history.co.uk/places/llanddwyn/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.