Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

In the middle of nowhere

(7/9/23)

I can't believe August has come to an end! The system is closed, so it was the perfect day to take a day off. I have been "on holiday" these last weeks but have worked every day. I wanted to help G get her packing done. She is hoping to get to Edinburgh via Doha on a standby ticket.

The time came to leave home. Everything was done well in time, so we weren't rushing. G's exit point is Sharjah Airport, chosen because most people want to fly out of Dubai, so you stand a better chance on a standby ticket in Sharjah! I opted to get there via the E611, otherwise called Emirates Road. The GPS guided me off the main road to avoid congestion, but because of temporary roadworks, I ended up on the S142 heading East.

The lone building standing in the middle of nowhere fascinated me, so G took a picture. We got into the Departures area, which is so tiny, it's almost unbelievable. So, as this is my first time (ever) here, I couldn't help noticing some things. 1. Parking is much cheaper than DXB. 2. Only passengers are allowed into the Check-in area, but you can pay (£6.50) and accompany the passenger. I decided to pay because I wanted to see the area.

G could get to Doha, no problem, but the flights to Edinburgh are over-subscribed for the next 3 or 4 flights! Argh! It's something to do with a computer glitch that is having a knock-on effect. She made the tough decision to try again another day, so instead of driving home alone, I had company. We came back via the E311. It took just over thirty minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.