This is the day

By wrencottage

Fault F24

Smithers had a wonderful night’s sleep last night, and I'm pleased to report he is making good progress. I washed his hair this morning over the basin after he'd had a shower, which made him feel a lot better. However, despite his good progress, and the arrival of Son #1 and our eldest granddaughter for an overnight stay, it’s not been an easy day.

First of all I got this error code when I loaded the dishwasher this morning. It signifies that there’s no signal from the heater relay, apparently, so it won’t work until that’s been fixed. I had to empty the contents of the dishwasher and wash it up by hand, which we’ve continued to do for the rest of the day. It’s not a huge problem, but one I could have done without just at this moment (especially with five of us in the house for two days and The Traveller arriving home tomorrow night). We’ve managed to arrange for a technician to come on Tuesday afternoon to repair it.

On top of that I've had another flood in the cupboard beside the washing machine this afternoon, when washing a load of towels. The large detergent dispensers in there clearly have an intermittent problem and when the machine sends water to the cupboard to collect the detergent, it somehow occasionally leaks all over the floor of the cupboard, which then spills out onto the utility room floor. Another job I could have done without. I cleared it all up, re-started the machine and it worked fine. Exasperating.

Finally, as I was preparing to cook a chicken this evening I dropped the pepper grinder, the base fell off and all the peppercorns fell on the floor. Again, a very small issue, but it just seems a bit overwhelming for me at the moment, what with administering Smithers’ drops, doing blood pressure checks, keeping records and providing meals and drinks, all the usual routines when you have a sick person in the house.

I’m done in again. Bed calls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.