Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Superboy

Today began with another run. :-D I woke at 4:30 (really bizarre) and lay there thinking about how far to run, and what route. It appears I dozed off again, as it was suddenly quarter to six. So up I got, and out I went. Eight and a bit km later: happy, relaxed, and still no pain. :-D

Saw a bower bird out the window after I got home, but the beggar disappeared while I was grabbing my camera. Then we headed out to the kids' swimming lesson. Both are doing really well - with missy even starting to get a bit of "big arms" (freestyle) happening today - as well as the biggest dive in the history of ever (even splashed Mrs tsuken and I, who were well off to the side and behind). Mstr 6 followed, with a dive not as enormous, but still very good - as shown here.

I was undecided how to present this shot. It needed a crop, being taken on the iPhone from a little way back; cropping to portrait orientation was obvious; but I had trouble deciding where to position the lad in frame. In the end I decided that it was better with him over to the side, with the lines of windows and pool in the empty-ish left side, rather than having him further into the frame, but other kids beside him and a little distracting.

Took the kids out for a bike ride in the afternoon, and will soon try to inveigle them into helping me with making macaroni cheese. Not like Paula Deen's fried macaroni and cheese - I quote from Salt, Sugar Fat: "For this, she scooped baked macaroni and cheese from a casserole, wrapped the balls in bacon, and deep-fried them in oil."

I just can't even ...

I'm not a bit surprised she developed diabetes....

Unsurprisingly, I stop before the deep-frying, before the wrapping in bacon - and even before the baking, come to that. I've never held with the notion of baking a perfectly good macaroni cheese; leave it soft and creamy, thanks. 8)

Oh, and here's Missy-moo in her colonial costume for their school's anniversary thing next week. Ill probably blip the pair of them in their costumes on the day, but I like the way this turned out (just from the iPhone, processed in Aviary), so here 'tis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.