PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Awaiting re-housing

Had a really busy day: a domestic morning and a gardening afternoon - at least, the second half of the afternoon; the first half I unintentionally snoozed. It's almost a year since we moved into this house and it was time to clear out the kitchen cupboards and sort the contents. Then vacuumed everywhere this morning.

Gardening was mostly deadheading and pruning, but the most exciting bit was digging out a huge decorative grass that I don't like. I like the sort that wave softly in the breeze and add texture, but this one shoots out great long arms with a bit of ugly fuzz on the end and obscures views of the birds' feeding station and the garden beyond. So it's gone: vigorous exercise made possible by the tool with teeth - a giant spade-type-tool that came from the Middle of Lidl a few weeks ago.

As I heaved out the huge clump of greenery, several snails were removed and then the cutest little caterpillar emerged. It's the caterpillar of the Knot Grass moth (Acronicta rumicis). After photographing it, I rehoused it in another flower bed, which is also over-run with weeds. 

Am now feeling ready for bed and it's not even 8.30pm! I'll try and hang on a little longer, then go to bed and read for as long as my eyes will stay open. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.