talloplanic views

By Arell

Shadows on the road behind

It's not been a good week for migrainey stuff.  Almost every day I've had one thing or another.  I was glad for the weekend to arrive and managed a much-needed long lie-in, then spent a lot of the day having the remnants of brain fog and lingering headache, which didn't really subside all day, but subsided enough for me to go out to buy milk.

That my little milk buying trip became 30 miles is not entirely coincident to the head-clearing ability of a motorbike ride, and helped by the turbine-smooth engine of Fidra the Pan European.  I've ridden the wheels off her this spring and summer, so much so that I will need to buy new tyres soon.  Fidra is also best friends with a little motorbike called Biscuit who lives a long way away.

Today after buying milk we didn't really want to go home, so for old times' sake we went up Blackford Hill, and I had a stroll in the fresh air up to the trig point and took some photographs, including the extra which is an attempt to match the view in a slide that Dad took many, many years ago.  After Blackford Hill it was a quick blast out of town.  I still didn't really want to go home though, so I rode out through Penicuik and nearly as far as Gladhouse reservoir before finally heading home with the heated grips on.

I was sad to learn that John Marshall, drummer with Soft Machine, died today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.