The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sacred to the memory

Lutterworth churchyard. I'm on a mystery tour. We set off from Gloucester at about 9.30 and visited Witney in the Cotswolds, then Banbury, then finally Lutterworth, which is a bit shuttered at the moment, but had a fine.Churchyard and some charity shops! I left friend D in Costa while I went  rummaging in the latter; found some Portmeirion pottery! Those who know my sister TMLHereandThere's blips will see that she is busy selling off her good china even as I acquire some! To be fair, the bowl is for a colleague's birthday, and an egg cup doesn't take up much space.

Now, where was I ? I was much taken with Witney, our first stop, and found an indoor craft market in a fine Civic building, the Corn exchange. Bought a candle and some 'craft' pineapple jam. Pineapple jam is absurdly sweet, but reminds me of happy days in the Canary Islands aged 4, when my family had an extended holiday there. I didn't go 'abroad' again until I was twenty (unless you include crossing the Irish sea between Ireland and Scotland, which we did frequently).

Banbury was quite nice. I had Nasi Goreng for lunch in a Lounge chain restaurant. D told me that he'd always considered Nasi Goreng to be a German dish (it's Malaysian) but on further reflection we realised that it was because he'd thought it was called 'Nazi Goering'. Hmmm...


We had another similar moment later,. I just had to.laugh! When I was reading aloud  from a brochure a description of the Christmas lights garden trail at RHS Harlow Carr, Yorkshire, I mentioned 'the Queen Mother's Lake'. D looked puzzled and queried, 'the Queen Mother's Legs?'

We ended up at Rockingham. It's in Rutland county, I think, and has a population of about 150 people and a large hotel. It's been billed as luxury, which I dispute, on account of the strong smell of damp in my room, but fortunately I'm an aromatherapist in addition to  my other job, so I always travel with essential oils.

The bed is very large. As I've been on the coach for most of the day, I'll probably sleep like an angel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.