The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lavenders blue

I rushed over to my student's to be there for our 10 o'clock lesson. He had overslept and was in a muddle, trying to assemble a piece of plastic 'furniture' to put his English books in. We managed to put it together, and he loaded it with books. We proceeded with the lesson.

Later, there was a loud crash which I attributed to the postman delivering a large brick. S nearly jumped out of his skin. He went to investigate, and found the books lying everywhere. Later he told me he'd decided to return the item. Good call! He bought a plastic box from Wilko for £3 instead, to hold his books.

We discussed, amongst other topics, Nike Air Force One trainers, and the lyrics of Adele's songs. I agreed that it is physically impossible to set the rain on fire, no matter what Adele claims to have done!  We decided to visit the Nike Store at Swindon outlet village, at some point. This is for his benefit. My workplace has a 'no trainers' dress code, mores the pity. 

Afterwards, we went to the Trinity Rooms, which has reopened as a cafe on Fridays. I nattered with some neighbourhood warden;, ate soup, salad and cake.

Walked downtown. The intense heat of last week had returned. I was glad to shrug off my jacket and bag and leave them with Steve in the market, while I went to the library to collect a book. Wandered back up the hill, sweating, carrying my laptop bag, but realising and I approached home that the front door key was actually still in my jacket pocket. Oops! Fortunately I have a 'safe' key so I got in, had a bath, did some washing, did my packing (I am off on a mystery weekend with D. Tomorrow) and cooked supper. 

Early night tonight, with my latest book (no, it's not new) Big Little Lies by Leane Moriarty. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.