pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Tidying up - before and after

Jon and Henry went out at just after 8, and I got up then too. I hooked up the trailer on my bike and went straight up to the allotment with a load of wood and garden rubbish to compost. I spent an hour there weeding my only productive veg bed of the thistles. I tried to dig out some potatoes but they are hardly worth the effort. I also picked 7 more courgettes.

Got back home for 9.30, had breakfast and a cup of tea, then got the giant ironing pile sorted, and did ironing through The Archers omnibus. Most of the ironing done, I prepared a load of the courgettes and made soup which we had for lunch. I used another courgette to make some courgette bread in the bread maker. I just substituted some of the water with grated courgette. The result is a very nice loaf, and really no sign of the courgette!

After lunch Jon and I went to Aylmerton where we spent an hour doing some gardening for an elderly gentleman. Jon goes weekly to cut his grass and is gradually tidying the whole garden. The man is away at the moment but Jon was keen to get the brown bin filled. I spent my time satisfyingly removing some of the bindweed from the drive gravel.

When we got back home we cleared a bit more in mums garden. Taking down the corkscrew hazel. It looks much tidier. But the rain stopped me doing any more.

Dan came for dinner, and then we played a board game Balderdash. A bit of fun with all 5 of us.

Off for a bath as I'm feeling shattered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.