CrocusMan

By TonyG

Moment of Brightness

In an otherwise dull and latterly wet day.  

Crocus boryi, a collection made by my then crocus mentor and fellow collection holder back in 2002.  It's certainly a survivor, albeit there's just the one corm 21 years later.  A plant found mostly in South and West Greece where it grows from sea level to 1650m, so along with a few other species from that region, it is fairly easy to grow in the Southern UK at least and might do OK outside ... if I ever have enough of them.   The yellow zone in the centre varies in size, I've grown forms which looked like a fried egg with a larger yellow centre.

As the morning was dry I got on with weeding and tidying the front garden.  Still plenty to do - and I want rid  of the remaining grassy areas which creep and also contain a few pernicious weeds.  I did start on planting some bulbs into the raised beds but the rain started concurrently so the job is only started, a lot more to do there too.   After lunch Chris and I went to look at Katie's mobility scooter which is for sale now she has a power chair.  Mum's one here is old, needs new batteries and has a fault.  Replacing it with a better one looks a good option.  Then I retired to the greenhouse and potted up yet more bulbs, only a very few of that part of the collection left to sort now.

The day sounds busier than it was.  I'm still tired after a busy fortnight, will try and take it gently this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.