PandaPics

By pandammonium

Acceptance

We had a lot of thunder last night. I hadn’t gone to sleep, so it kept me awake for ages. It was very bright and very loud and very close. If I’d already been asleep, I probably wouldn’t have noticed.

I’m turning more and more into my mam. I used to laugh at her when she couldn’t see things close up and she had to move them back and forth till they were in focus. I loved trying to guess where that point would be. Usually, it was always too close.

Now I do that.

I can’t read my phone at a comfortable distance, and yet I refuse to make the writing bigger. I can’t curl up and read my book any more because I can’t focus on the writing if it’s too close.

I was out running some errands this afternoon.

I bumped into lovely Luna and her dad. I was touched by how happy she was to see me, although she may have been expecting treats.

In Superdrug, I noticed a stand of reading glasses. Once I understood which ones I should get (start with the weakest, +1.00), I tried a pair on. Everything instantly went blurry. When I looked at my phone, it was like it was right up in my face; it and the writing on it were massive.

I bought them, thinking they’d do till I get a chance to see the optician. It feels like a big step.

Mr Perkins has forced me to sit beside him on the sofa, so I’m going to see if I can curl up and read my book for a while before Pilates. Hopefully, I won’t get more of a headache than I’ve already got.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.