Capital adventures

By marchmont

Remembering

Mistral is opposite the original airport in Crete that was the site of the Battle of Crete in May 1941 and where German paratroopers invaded the island. Above the hotel is the German war cemetery on Hill 107, a strategic location. 

Being a windy, slightly cloudy b day I walked up n the hill to visit. There v was an exhibition and lots of information on the battle v as well as the b graves of thousands of those killed in the battle, many very young. Unlike CWGC cemeteries the headstone were flat but extremely well tended, with beautiful views.  There quite a few folk there, many German. There were also cats and kittens!

Back down the hill I went to the pool and after some lying in the weather sun had lunch followed by a swim in the wind cooled pool.

Later I discovered the cloud and had, the wind died  down and normal service resumed. I did a wee bit sewing and before I know it it was time to go upstairs and prep for dinner. Many are leaving tomorrow so there v was the weekly clap for the catering team. After I actually danced before wending my way upstairs. 

There is no tv here so most of the stories from home pass us by, a good thing .

#3 son's birthday today m messages were sent and received. 36!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.