Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A sunflower to brighten a dull day

Today was extremely blustery and we had a bit of rain, but it was not too cold. 

I seem to have spent most of the morning at my computer shopping for Gavin's birthday present. He is impossible to buy for so I usually end up buying him clothes that he needs, and one of the things he wanted was quite hard to find but eventually after trawling through various websites I managed to find it and ordered it.

I photographed a sunflower that was part of a bunch I have in a vase in the house - at the moment they are the cheapest and most long lasting flowers to buy so I usually have some in a vase.

After lunch I met a friend at Gail's in the village for a coffee, to catch up on our news. Her son (who was at school with Luke) got married in the summer so I enjoyed hearing about the wedding.

Last night the camera club zoom talk by Inaki Hernandez-Lasa was very enjoyable. Interestingly, he said that he takes very few photos when at a location as he spend ages working out if the composition is perfect, and if it is not then he does not take the photo. He discussed certain images and explained how the line or curve had to be in just the right position. He likes to get it all correct in camera and then spends minimal time editing the image. It obviously works as his images are really beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.