Ingleman

By Ingleman

History Trail

A walking tour of Ludlow (part Vll)

I love Ludlow. I absorb the history, and get great pleasure from researching what I don't know.

I took refreshment in The Wheatsheaf public hostelry, which is adjacent to the Broad Gate, previously blipped.

My collage shows the pub, which is on Lower Broad Street. The old Citroen van was parked on Old Street, where I visited the site of Old Gate. One of seven gated entrances to the old walled town.

The gates are all gone now, except for Broad Gate. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3024801230217019498

The house which is on the site of Old Gate is a later timber framed building. (Lanes House) Seen middle and lower right in the collage.. The buildings in the top right are at the top end of Broad Street, where it meets King Street and The Buttercross.

Are you folowing me?

As I say, I love old Ludlow town. Hope you don't get bored, there's lots more to come. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.