Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

AN APPLE A DAY KEEPS THE DOCTOR AWAY

The Wide Wednesday theme today is " something from a proverb or old saying"  I've chosen the saying  " an apple a day keeps the doctor away "  .  It  originated  in Wales, first appearing in a publication in 1866 in a different rhyming format: “Eat an apple on going to bed and you’ll keep the doctor from earning his bread.”  The saying reappeared in 1913 in its current form.  Thanks to Steveng for hosting.

The apples in my blip are a variety called Pink Lady.  They are my favourite apples.  I sometimes try others but always come back to Pink Lady as I like the taste.

Today the weather started off rainy and very windy.  I dressed for this weather when I left the house around 2pm to go to the village.  However almost as soon as I set foot out of the door the weather changed completely. The rain stopped, it was calm and the sun came out --- and it was quite warm.  By the time I got to the village I was seeing people in T Shirts - I had on a thick padded coat.

Dentists appointment was at 2.15pm - just my 6 monthly check up.  Everything was OK.  Afterwards I saw the hygienist. Next I had an appointment at the chemists for my flu jab but it wasn't until 4pm so I had time to spare and I went for a little wander.  Took my Extra shot looking over to Newcastle where you can see St James Park in the distance.

Picked up my repeat prescription at the chemist and then had my flu jab.  Then to Herons for shopping and Tesco to collect a parcel.  Then a slow wander home.

Met a neighbour in the street.  She was with her grown up daughter who is staying with her at the moment  -- plus a new grandson.  I remember the daughter when she was a small child and I hadn't seen her for years.  Nice to have a catch up.... and the baby was gorgeous.  Only a few weeks old and so tiny.

Steps today - 8,827

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.