Capital adventures

By marchmont

Going home

To say today has been stressful is an understatement.

Started off ok. Tea in bed at 7, early breakfast, paid bill, checked and at 10.45  4 of us set off in the minibus to Chania Airport. We had a farewell guard of honour of Sue, Val, Chris, Bea and Mary. Such good fun. I always knew I was going to be early and by the time we got to airport I knew the inbound was delayed, an hour. 

I had to wait landside for an hour till bag drop opened but managed to say a second goodbye to the Manchester 3.

Then I sat and read my book as we waited to board the coaches. Scheduled departure was 14.45 but it about 5 before we actually left after waiting on tarmac for ATC clearance for over 30 minutes. The pilot was excellent, took off seat belt signs and opened the cockpit so folk could have a look.

Flight was fine.i managed a shot of Chania as we banked north and  dozed and read. Then we stacked over Gatwick for 15 minutes before landing at 18.30, over 90 minutes late. And then we sat on the tarmac for 30 minutes waiting for the gate to clear.  I was having a mild panic about the next flight.

However, the Border was quick, the baggage was well, ok, and the next Bag Drop was deserted.

Now I'm in the Lounge having some 'free' food. And of course the Edinburgh flight is delayed, 40 minutes! 

I just want to be home, in my own bed. 

PS. The 40 minutes delay turned to an hour, I had to leave the Lounge when it closed at 9, the Gate changed from 55F to 55C after we'd all started queuing, we took off 90 minutes late, there was no catering on board (linked to aircraft's much delayed return from Dalaman), but on a positive side I sat in the car less than half an hour after landing as the clock turned over to 0.00. It was a very long day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.