Grammy

By Grammy

My Autumn Garden

Our area is busily preparing for the impending storm that is arriving tonight and hanging around through Sunday. High winds, heavy rains, coastal flooding are all on the list. My sister will probably get the worst of it. The rest of us live inland or “on higher waterfront land” (my mother). We picked up everything that could possibly blow away. Then I took pre-storm photos of my garden. I worry the most about the crazy tomatoes (bottom right) and tall heavily laden sweet pepper plants. The new seedlings should be okay unless we get a drowning rain. Then we headed upstairs to tackle the guest bedrooms. We washed windows and mirrors, wiped down walls, wall art, cleaned baseboards and furniture, gave everything a thorough cleaning. The bedroom and en-suite are now sparkling. We started the second room but my knees had had it. Now we have something productive to do during the storm. Hubby helped with all the heavy lifting and big jobs. I couldn’t have gotten it all done without him. Kristen stopped by. Someone hacked into her Google account around 1:00 am. They bought stuff using her Venmo account and signed her up to receive e-mails from what looks like, every government agency. She has gotten notes from social security offices (SSA) in almost every state. Hubby told her to change her password immediately and contact the SSA for assistance. She froze her Venmo accounts and her hubby was able to convince their bank to reimburse them for the false charges. What a mess. I only tell you so you can work hard to safeguard your electronic data. I am not sure how she can fix her situation. The strangest part is that her company installed one of the most secure intrusion deterrent software apps on her phone awhile back. Hubby is going to pick up Mexican for our dinner. My work day is over. Thanks for your stars and nice comments yesterday. Stay safe. “No single sort of garden suits everyone. Shut your eyes and dream of the garden you’d most love then open your eyes and start planting. Loved gardens flourish, boring ones are hard work.” —Jackie French

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.