flavia13

By flavia13

THE GREAT ESCAPE

I thought this was an appropriate title for this and a little tribute to David McCallum who has just passed away at the age of 90 - he was in the film The Great Escape. 

We decided to give Leighton Moss a try this morning.  We wanted to be a bit green so we went by train and caught the 9.18 from Kents Bank, which was spot on time.  Mind you it was a no brainer to go by train -  not only to be greener but also economically.  Hubby is a member of "The Friends of Kents Bank" and volunteers to keep the station looking good, this means he gets a free train pass to use just on the Furness line.  I have a Senior Rail Card - so the total bill for the two of us was ------- Ta  DA.....................£3.60!!!!!

It started off well but already the car park looked full and there were groups of people, so  we  thought it was going to be busy, but it was extraordinarily busy.  Lots of volunteers working hard, which is great to see and they do a FANTASTI job, but also couple of coach loads of elderly folk - one I believe was from an Alzheimer's group.  Great to see them having such a good time, just typical of me to choose today to go.  Still I will go again and perhaps on a quieter day.

I really wanted to see the otters and I did - well kind of - they were way in the distance but through my 300mm lens I could just make them out.  See in extras and see if you fan Spot The Otter!!??

Loads and loads of coots, a couple of cormorant, ducks, pigeons and a lot of swans.  We only went to two hides due to them being so busy.  We then went back to the pagoda just outside the main entrance and enjoyed watching the small birds, who always give me joy anyway.  This, I believe is a Nuthatch.  It is just a feeder but from that angle it looks like it's escaping from a cage so I thought it would be make a reasonable blip.  Not the sharpest of pictures but boy the don't stay still very long.  I was hoping to see the Bearded Tits but no sign of them once we got there,  too many people  I  suspect and it was pretty windy, so they were being sensible and staying hidden in the reeds.

Had a coffee and Bacon Bap for brunch before catching the 12:20 train back home.  Again on time - amazing.  

That's all for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.