curns' corner

By curns

High Street

I was in the office again today. I had no other meetings scheduled than our regular catch-up. It’s good to be the office with people ... but I feel like I write that every Tuesday.  It’s noticeable that I am either getting used to the train journey or train reliability has significantly improved in recent months as I no longer think to check which trains are running before I leave and I am always taking the route via Kingston which is slightly longer but gets me a seat in the morning.   When I travel home, I am usually with one of my colleagues, Mo, and I go as far as Clapham before coming back to Raynes Park. I’ve even got used to picking the right part of the train that will get me on one of the first ones that come in.

Last month I read that Tesco had bought the Paperchase brand - Paperchase: Tesco buys stationery brand but not its shops, BBC News - and today while getting my lunch in Staines I saw the remains of the stock being sold off in one of the shops that won’t be there in a few weeks. It’s sad to see these brands go and is something that I might have documented in my Changing High Streets selection.  I thought the big yellow poster was quite striking even with its downbeat message.

A quick nip to the Co-op on the way home to grab some snacks. I don’t know why it is that I feel the need snack when I get home from work. It’s not good for me but I do it anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.