*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

The Ship's Cat

Alone, he lifted up his voice
All in the tropic night.
"Greensleeves was all my joy," he sang,
"Greensleeves was my delight."
Her tender heart was moved with pity
To hear the luckless English kitty
A-singing of his plaintive ditty
Without or fire or light.


For LBB9 (Big Books are Brilliant) - The Ship's Cat, written by Richard Adams and illustrated by Alan Aldridge & Harry Willock. It was one of my favourite books from childhood but I've not looked at it for years, thought it was perfect for Love Blippin' Books this month.

The pictures used to fascinate me (especially this one), they are weird and wonderful and you always spot something new in them... which I did again as I'd never paid attention to the initials scratched on the cell wall before. I know who AA and HW are, but not sure about DB. Interesting.

I got this book from mum and dad (along with Masquerade by Kit Williams) for Christmas in 1979. I still love and cherish both.

Thanks Sgwarnog for hosting LBB9 this month, it was an interesting prompt and I enjoyed revisiting The Ship's Cat :-)

If anyone would like to still take part this month the details are here and the tag is #LBB9. If anyone would like to host in October give me a shout.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.