Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

AUTUMN COLOURS

I spent quite some time last evening looking through the Superdrug website and ordered 16 items.  Paid by Paypal and thought that was that.  Then I got an e mail saying that as all of the items were no longer available they had cancelled my order..  This was just minutes after I had ordered them. Seems strange.  The website obviously didn't show any of them as being out of stock.  So annoying - and a waste of my time too.

I had to phone Sky this morning to discuss a problem,  I got through straight away - and then I was on the phone for 40 mins while they tried to sort things out. The lady did some checks which revealed that nothing seemed to be wrong with my broadband/landline as far as she could see on her system.  But as I was having problems she would send out an engineer.  Easier said than done. As there wasn't a problem according to the system it wouldn't assign an engineer. ( reminded me of the David Walliams sketch " Computer Says No ") In the end the lady managed to work around it and an engineer will call on Tuesday.

It was a dry morning but by the time I left the house to go to the village it was raining heavily.  My first call was to the Esso Garage to pick up a Yodel parcel.  Then I walked along to the shops.  Lots of empty shelves again in Herons... no tomatoes, no apples, no satsumas, no grapes and no cottage cheese. I left the shop with hardly anything.  At least Tesco next door had grapes and tomatoes.  

Took my blip shot when I was in the village.  It shows St Marys Church and the village green looking Autumnal.  The Wide Wednesday challenge is the changing seasons  hosted by steveng .

Newcastle had a home match this evening.  They were playing Manchester City in the Carabao Cup - kick off 8pm.  I didn't bother getting a ticket as I'm not keen on evening games.  So I listened on the radio.  Manchester City were by far the better team in the fist half and had most of the possession.... but they didn't score a goal.  Newcastle played much better in the second half and  Alexander Isak scored on the 53rd minute for The Toon. This one goal clinched it and Newcastle were the victors.  They have an away match in the next round ... against Manchester United.

Steps today - 8,070.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.