Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Osteospermum

I walked Xena in Oxshott Heath this morning, where the council countryside department are carrying out woodland management this autumn - I was shocked to see so many trees cut down, but thankfully not old trees. Reading the notices they have put up it seems they are cutting 33% of the canopy to allow more light in the woods, removing invasive non-native species (rhododendron, Turkey oak and laurel), thinning 50% of the holly for the safety of walkers (!) and felling 25% per hectare for regeneration - all to improve biodiversity and improve the health of the woodland. I hope they know what they are doing as it looks quite severe.

I wandered around our garden afterwards and these osteospermums are still looking rather pretty. 

I spent ages trying to work out the dimensions to print triptychs for our annual 3-of-a-kind camera club competition. The mount has to remain a certain size and I was trying to work out the best way to display three images so that they could be as large as possible yet within the mount border. I think I got there in the end, and they have been uploaded to the print lab to get printed.

We are driving to London this evening for dinner at a lovely Italian restaurant to celebrate Gavin's birthday which was on Monday. It is right near to where Luke and Meriel live and it is easier for Adam to get a train to London then to come all the way home to Surrey, so its a convenient spot to meet. Whenever the family get together there is lively debate about some current topic and I know tonight will be about the cancelling of Laurence Fox!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.