Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Jebel Jais

(1/10/23)

YAY! It is a public holiday today - the next one is in December.

It worked out well as Miriam is passing through, and it means we can do more than meet up for dinner. So, with the extra time, I suggested a drive to Jebel Jais, something I've wanted to do for years.

I had to be up and showered before 8 AM as Miriam's flight from DC landed then. She likes to keep going until it is bedtime in the current time zone, so we set out after she had a cup of tea.

The drive was easy with the Corolla. It doesn't have the bells and whistles of the MG, but it is very efficient with fuel and handles beautifully. Miriam was super-thrilled to see the red dunes of RAK and then the rugged Hajar Mountains. The road to get to the vantage point (Jebel Jais Flight - the longest zipline in the world) is smooth, with several hairpin bends.

We couldn't get into the main restaurant as we hadn't booked in advance, but at 31degC, it was cool enough to sit outside and eat in the shade. I can't wait to take G there.

We came home the long way - via the East Coast and Rafisah Dam. Miriam held up really well through the entire day. I'm so impressed.

Back at the flat, Mriaim got a taxi to check in at her hotel. I crashed out for a few minutes. We then met up at the Sol Sky Bar for Ladies' Night. Sitting outside sipping cocktails and watching the nightlife on the Creek was the perfect end to the day. I was home by 11, desperately needing my bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.