Bom

By Bom

Autumnal Display

I went into town this morning for a loaf from the bakers, to drop a jigsaw in at the charity shop and to have a general look around. I liked this autumnal / Halloween display in Bakers and Larners, although I was surprised to see one whole area full of Xmas trees and decorations. 

There was a lot of debris around on the roads following last night’s horrendous storms and absolute deluge - my rain gauge recorded 38.4mm in the 60-90 mins before midnight, with another 4mm outside that. My gutters were overflowing so much rain was falling so quickly, and the drains in the road were not taking the rain away quickly enough. The thunder was very weird as it sounded continuous, presumably we had several storms all around us. I’m so glad I moved most of the compost yesterday, I emptied the remainder from the huge bag today and finished top dressing the front beds and containers. It was a lot harder work when wet and heavy, than it was yesterday. Just got to get rid of the pallet now and finish top dressing the beds in the back garden. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.