Teasel

By Teasel

Waterloo Place

Another day in the office.  Yesterday morning when I went into work I bought a scone (it was still warm), as I hadn’t had any breakfast and I knew it was going to be a busy day.  I ate the scone this morning.  It was fine, but would have been much better yesterday. 
 
Work continued to be rather too busy and pressured for my liking.  I sat down at my desk at 8am and left tonight at 7:15pm, I worked hard and barely moved all day.  My Fitbit has the evidence of not very many steps taken. 
 
I had a nightmare getting home.  It took me around two hours as the buses were all to pot, as I think Princes Street was closed and then there seemed to be roadworks everywhere.  I didn’t know this and was waiting at my usual bus stop – along with many other people.  A lady started chatting to me about the buses, then said she had heard someone say they weren’t coming along the usual route.  After much searching on the app, I eventually found some information.  The lady I was talking to turned out to be the English teacher of a Ukrainian lady who was with her.  The Ukrainian lady was waiting on my bus.  The English teacher decided to go and get a train, and asked me to help the Ukrainian lady to get home.  She was very nice, but her English wasn’t all that good.  We walked to Abbeyhill and waited for what seemed like forever on our bus.  Coincidently we got off at the same stop.  It turns out that she and her daughter are living with a family in my town.  I walked her almost to her door, as it was on my way home and she was so grateful for my help in getting home.  It felt like a good deed, and like yesterday’s concert, made me forget about work.
 
I was exhausted when I got in, and was grateful that TT had kept my tea warm.  I then had to do some more work, to allow me to meet an early deadline.  It really has been relentless this week.
 
This is the view from the first bus stop I stood at tonight.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.