PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Autumn flowers

When does toning turn into clashing when it comes to colours? When I look down the garden I see pinkish-red sedum mingling alongside Michaelmas daisies. The daisies are not such a strong purple as they were even a week ago. Likewise, the reddish sedum has now softened towards pink. Clash or tone, the two together bring me great pleasure.

Woke to a wet garden, so it had obviously rained overnight. The morning stayed dry but rain began to fall seriously around the time the school was crocodiling its way to St John's village church, and our daughter and little Miss B's two grannies were making our way to join the school's Harvest Festival service. We enjoyed some new-to-all-of-us harvest songs, readings and prayers, performed and read by children from the 85-strong school. Little Miss B's class performed Dingle Dangle Scarecrow beautifully. Our granddaughter smiled at us on their way out, back to school, but made no move to reach us, clearly in school-girl mode. She loves school. She'd happily go seven days a week if she could. (Although she does like being at home, too!) 

Earlier in the day, I'd been to the dentist for my initial visit, and need to return for X-rays and to see the hygienist. (I am pleased about the latter; I knew I'd been too long without a scale and polish.) My new dentist seemed nice, even if she looked too young not to be at school still herself. That might be a sign I'm getting old. Not sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.