carliewired

By carliewired

68 F / 20 C

A blanket of cloud
hangs over our valleys this
morning - it is fall

~carliewired

I drove into McArthur Island Park's north entrance with hopes that I would spot some deer. I parked near the entrance to walk along the edge of the slough where I found a heron and some ducks. A crow popped up onto a picnic table to entertain himself with something he'd found on the ground. There is a row of trees near the entrance that are in beautiful fall colours. I noticed that the Butterfly Garden has been put to bed for the winter. All the foliage is cut back to the ground. 

I drove around to the west side of the loop road and parked beside the mini golf course. The deer seem to like this location and they were there in numbers today - 6 bucks and 2 does. I don't understand the appeal of this course for the deer. They seem to nibble a bit on the vegetation, then move on. 

On the south side of the island I got a shot of my mountains appearing to have been decapitated. I looked across the river to Rabbit Island where some of the trees have turned colour. 

I picked up a drive-thru breakfast, then headed home. 

I have a couple of appointments today, but I will make it a quiet one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.