Capital adventures

By marchmont

Gardening

Thanks for all the good wishes yesterday, although I am a fraud!  11 weeks to the real blipversary. 

I was snerdling this morning.*  I do like a Saturday.  But of course I had ti get up.  

It was a pleasant day.  The sun was shining and after doing the laundry I headed outside to photograph and count airbricks.  The excitement!  Though the forecast was for very cold weather my sheltered, south facing garden was warm in the sun.  I spent most of the day cutting back plants and digging out a weed infested plant. I've kept a bit to overwinter in a pot and hope I can get of all the couch grass. Yanked out a lot of the evergreen honeysuckle and cut the grass.  Hopefully the last cut before the winter, but you never know.  There was a desiccated frog to get rid off and continuing evidence of foxes on the grass.

I've also topped up the bird feeders.  That will keep the squirrel happy. It was cold round the front but the back was very pleasant and feel quite satisfied with what I've done.  there is more to do before I can put the garden 'to bed' but I'm reluctant to cut back some plants so early.  November will do. 

I didn't dew last night - maybe tonight.

*Snerdle: verb in the English Dialect Dictionary for snuggling under the covers as though your life depended on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.