There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Ha Ha Ha Ha! You've Been FLOCKED!

We were driving past a neighbor's house on the way to an afternoon hike at Dry Hollow when we spotted them: a whole flock of pink flamingos! I laughed and laughed, and when we returned from our walk, I insisted that I be dropped off so I could photograph the birds.

I adore pink flamingos. I find them ridiculous and hysterical, and I actually bought a few of them to grace the bulb garden I planted for my friend Ellen, aka "The Boot." There is something whimsical about the whole thing. It's just fun.

So of course, I had to look it up when I got home. The flocking is done locally by the Port Matilda EMS (their Facebook page has many entries about this!), as a fundraiser. The flock of flamingos cost them about $300. 

For $20, you can flock a neighbor. For $15, you can get a trained flamingo flocking professional to remove them. (If you do nothing, they'll remove them after four days for free.) For $30, you can purchase anti-flocking insurance, to protect your home against FUTURE flockings.

I'm giggling even as I type this! For me, pink flamingos are an adventure into ridiculosity; they also give the feeling of being somewhere exotic . . . 

Am I stranded on an island?
Or have I landed in paradise?
Am I stranded on an island?
Or have I landed in paradise?

My soundtrack song for this adventure into the land of whimsy is Miley Cyrus, with Island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.