The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On Doverow Hill, Stonehouse

I've walked many steps today. Got up and cooked bacon for breakfast (we're sill defrosting the freezer) th n walked down to the canal and along to the bypass,through the bottom of town, and out to Lild, where I met V. The morning was crisp and sunny and I encountered runners, joggers (solo and en masse), family groups with babies in buggies, dog walkers, cyclists and hikers. Everyone wanted a blast of sunshine! 

At Lidl I bought some totally unnecessary goods (not frozen!) Then we dropped them off at V's flat in Stonehouse and I admired all her home-making skills (she's been there for six weeks). We then set off for a walk up Doverow hill, which has changed greatly since I was last up there in 2021 or '22. Much of the area has been fenced off, as it belongs to a farm, apparently. There are still vineyards on the lower slopes,  belonging to the Woodchester Valley vineyard. The Cotswold Way still runs along the lower slopes, winding its 103-mile way from Chipping Campden to Bath. 

At the top of the hill it was warm enough for me to lie down on my coat in the sunshine. V took her shoes off. We picknicked on crisps, then meandered downhill, past vineyards, getting hopelessly lost and eventually emerging at least a mile from our expected end point. No matter, we walked back to Stonehouse.

We refuelled, then set off on another walk, back to the Ocean, where I went last weekend with GG, and further along the canal, past the pillbox tower and Bonds Mill to the industrial estate where there is a Costa coffee shop (who knew?) More drinks, then back via the same route to Stonehouse and the flat. 
V drove me back to Stroud, where we sat in the car discussing my Difficult Case (she works in the same place as me). 

After she left, I made an exciting meal using fish from the freezer: steamed hake with a herbed crust, with seasonal vegetables. It was delicious, if I say so myself. There is still Quite a Lot of fish left in the freezer.  I will soon be turning into a fish. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.