Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Fly me to the moon

The Museum of the Moon is in Hexham Abbey for a few weeks. I called to see it today.

First I was in Hartburn Church to continue a project I am doing there. Then I drove to Hexham and had lunch in the Abbey Refectory.

They are always slow in the refectory but after 25 minutes my tea was almost finished and was cold. It turned out that my ciabatta had been given to the wrong person, who had eaten it anyway!  Eventually mine was prepared, fresh tea mashed and I was able to to to see the moon.

It is 6m in diameter and quite awe inspiring. I took this shot from below with the camera on the floor. This created challenges for focussing because I use back button focus.Then I had to position the camera to include all of the moon. Even with an 18mm lens this was tricky.

I had used auto ISO and then suddenly thought that I could set it so ISO 100 and the camera on the floor would not move. (It's stone, so people walking was unlikely to cause significant vibrations.) 

I'm told it looks better at night time.

I slept badly last night and had a bizarre nightmare in which I was trying my first gig as a stand up comedian. I can still remember a lot of the dream. Needless to say I was a failure and the audience walked out of the village hall after the interval and supper! They did not pay me because they said I had been booked to give an illustrated talk.......

I include this especially for hazelh (not for interpretation!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.